He Changed the ‘Face’ of Music

The King of PopSo we just got back from vacation, and we just learned about the demise of Michael Jackson. Have you heard about this? Yes, of course you have, it’s everywhere. The news, that is. And although completely sad watching the world’s biggest super star lead us down a twisting path of brilliance at times, but more commonly weird ordeals, he will be missed, undoubtedly. But since you all already know he’s gone, (if you learned he’s dead here, then, wow, read more) I feel like sharing my introduction to the one-handed-sequin-gloved King of Pop.

After hearing the ridiculously ironic hit “Black or White” for the first time in my Grade 5 class, I fell in love with the man’s presence on the music world. It was then, after “borrowing” Dangerous from another fifth grader, I wanted more from this man. For my next birthday then, I asked my dad to get me a Michael Jackson cassette tape. Yeah, cassette tape. It didn’t really matter which one, although I heard good things about this Thriller album.

When birthday time came for my 12-year-old self, I quickly tore open the wrapping paper to discover the naked cassette sitting in my hands. It was Prince’s Purple Rain. The poor man’s Michael Jackson. To make me feel better, my dad rushed back to the music store, and when he couldn’t find a Michael Jackson tape, got me another masterpiece. I then unwrapped that present, to discover Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch. It was a rough birthday.

text by ryanbolton

  1. Michael was a legend, and the world is a much more joyous place because of his music.

    I got to see him shopping once, and he bought a Green Goblin statue:

    http://fullbodytransplant.wordpress.com/2009/06/28/i-was-there-the-day-michael-jackson-bought-this-at-the-mall/

    Godspeed Michael, the music will live forever.

    • Erin
    • July 11th, 2009

    He was a legend, and I miss him. The first song I heard was “Thriller” as a child, my mom was an MJ fan. Then I heard Smooth Criminal, Black or White then Will You Be There. He was a musical genius. *Moonwalks out* ^^ Hee-Hee.

    Long live the King.

    • Anonymous
    • July 16th, 2009

    Prince is the poor man’s Michael Jackson!
    Please. Mr. Bolton, do not write about things you no nothing of.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

