Social Media Detox

I haven’t been on MSN in a week. The first couple days, I felt like I was going through withdrawal. I’d open my computer and stare at the screen, maybe click the refresh button on my e-mail a couple times, and sometimes, I’d just sit there and wonder about what I did before MSN.

Since I left, I actually haven’t felt like going back. Not even to check Facebook or Twitter. I’d been talking a lot about the evils of social media and how grossly connected we are, but I was hesitant to practice what I preach. And then my friend convinced me to do it.

A friend who doesn’t have a Facebook and is rarely available on MSN, he relies on phone calls and texts, sparingly.
He told me that what we do on MSN justifies our boredom. I thought about my recent conversations and they all pretty much went like this:

“Hey man, what’s up?”
“Not much, you?”
“Same.”
“LOL.”
“So…”

It was hard to give up.  Prior to this experience, I was as connected as a ninth grade girl, I had MSN, Facebook, Twitter, even a Neopet. After I got over the withdrawal though, I can’t say I miss it. In fact, my one-week without MSN ended on Thursday, and it’s now Saturday (almost Sunday) and I haven’t been on at all.

What have I done?  I’ve played guitar, read books and magazines, I’ve done crosswords, and gone out.  I’ve even played video games.  That one may not seem like a big deal, but actually being focused on them and not trying to juggle a laptop and a controller has made me a much better player (and I need to get my thumbs in shape for the holiday rush).

The next step is to delete my Facebook.  It’s a big step, but I think it can be done.

Bryan Myers

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

