Dragon Age: Origins And Gay Sex, Is This Right?

I’m not going to post this clip in the blog, but The Globe and Mail wrote about this on Friday. Apparently, in the role playing game Dragon Age: Origins, you can go about having sex with another man. It isn’t too horribly graphic, but at one point the character says, “is there something in your tent that needs assassinating?” There is kissing, and holding, it’s held in a positive light.

I’m not homophobic, nor do I have a problem with gay culture, but  in my opinion, I think this is taking it a bit too far in the world of video games.

The game, rated M, is intended for audiences of 17 and older. But in my experience playing video games, I know that if I wanted to get my hands on an M rated game, it really wasn’t that difficult.

Being 21 now, I have a different perspective on these things, but if I played this game when I was 14, it might be a little more difficult to swallow. Pardon the pun.

Either way, does this sort of stuff have a place in video games? Are we growing as a society or are we just walking backwards? What constitutes an M rated game and an “Adults Only” game? Should sex in video games even exist? Let alone gay sex?

Lets talk about this, we are all adults right?

    • Anonymous
    • December 28th, 2009

    I know this post was made about three weeks ago, but something you wrote here really bothers me.

    “Should sex in video games even exist? Let alone gay sex?”

    I agree that incorporating sex into video games is a little unnecessary, there’s no real point to it.
    But why did you have to say “Let alone gay sex”?

    Why is gay sex any worse than regular sex?
    Straight sex, gay sex, lesbian sex… it’s all just sex. And all of it is inappropriate. But I don’t think any particular branch of it is worse than another.

    You say you’re not homophobic and you respect gay culture. But this comment makes you sound otherwise.

  1. In my opinion I’d say gay sex is less accepted than straight-sex. A gay sex scene in a film would garner much more attention(negative or positive?) than a straight-sex scene.

    Thanks for critiquing rather than contributing. How do you really feel?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

