Heavy Rain makes controlling yourself difficult

Last night my friends urged me to play the demo for Heavy Rain (PS3), a cinematic-thriller made by Quantic Dream. The story has something to do with being a detective and hunting down the “Origami Killer”.

The artwork is stunningly detailed. I’m usually a fairly fast learner when it comes to video games but Heavy Rain’s innovative control system continued to produce hilarious results. I like these kind of games because they give you a peek into someone else’s vision of gaming.

It got me thinking, the game is supposed to be ultra-realistic and my ultra-realistic character is failing to maneuver through everyday social situations. My character walks like a drunk, stumbling and bumping into the walls. In the conversation sequences a list of choices will flash onto the screen and you have a split second to decide an appropriate response. I was too anxious waiting for that split second decision that I had difficulty following the conversation and often picked the non-sequitor. Where I was supposed to ask questions about the killer, I was asking about where to find some coffee and talking about the weather.

Another part of the demo has the main character climb a muddy hill, if you don’t press the right buttons fast enough you slip down the hill and get all muddy. Of course, in real life watching a person (a detective no less) roll down a hill three or four times before making it up might raise some questions.

This kind of applies to movies and reality television as well. There are some things we enjoy as entertainment but when you really break them down to what really happened they get rather uncomfortable. My favourite is reality tv fights. I don’t think anyone would be comfortable have a very personal fight in front of a camera. When the Bachelor was on, I constantly questioned the thought processes involved, all this talk about love and Jake being “the one” and they are on a show where the premise is that one guy will make out and thirty girls constantly.

Jersey Shore on the other hand, that’s a little more believable strangely enough.

All in all, I highly recommend testing out Heavy Rain, if not for anything else but the potential awkward social interactions.

Bryan

Leave a Reply

