Social Media Monsters

I’ve been hearing a lot about Facebook recently about privacy issues. Personally, I don’t think it’s employers business what one chooses to put on Facebook. This is the beginning of 1984-esque control. If employers can look at Facebooks and decide that our extracurricular activities aren’t to their liking, what’s next?

Social media is the way of the future, as a species we want to reach out and be heard by as many people as will listen to us. The big concern, however, is ultimate censorship.


In what ways are we forced to censor ourselves?

I agree that there are some things we should probably keep to ourselves, but all in all, how we interact with our friends can often be taken out of context when viewed by an outsider.

Are there good things about what one can find using social media? In my opinion the best way to get to the bottom of something is just to simply ask in person. How many miscommunications do people have over things on Facebook? Enough that it’s a problem. One can’t expect an employer to take every inside joke as it was intended.

Before the social media revolution, I remember talking on the home to my high school girlfriend’s and often not knowing what they were doing all the time, it just didn’t matter. But then Facebook and text messages were introduced and everyone knows exactly what everyone else is doing… always.

How did people keep tabs in the 80s? I guess in a way the Private Investigator career went down the tubes. No more need to pay someone to sneak around and take pictures and gather clues when you can just pop on Facebook and see who was where and at what time with who else?

We’re too dependant on it. The big issue shouldn’t be whether or not Facebook’s privacy laws aren’t tight enough but rather why we are so compelled to post incriminating things all over our Facebooks in the first place.

It’s a good way to keep personal memories, before Facebook, no one brought their camera to a party and then e-mailed them painstakingly to everyone they knew, pictures were few and far between, and that was fine. It’s great to have the memories all in one place though, the bottom line is that they are private memories between friends. I would be creeped out if an employer dropped by my house to take a gander through my childhood photos and listen to what my mom’s comments were. That wouldn’t be allowed in real-life, why do we let it happen on the internet?

Employers expect us to all be saints. When I guarantee not one person in the world exists without some skeletons. We are human, and in that way we are essentially flawed. We drink, we need attention, and we skip work and say dumb things about our bosses. This is a Fight Club moment, we are the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the earth. We aren’t perfect and we all have one problem or another. Even celebrities: Tiger’s in trouble, Britney’s a mess, even Hannah has her demons. That’s just the way life goes.


Social media is a blessing and a curse. It’s great to connect with our old friends, but it’s kind of annoying to have the drama that comes with it.

My take on everything: Protect yourself, I’m not an advocate for deleting or not having a Facebook, there are some really legitimate uses for Facebook. As a journalist, I connect with a lot of people over it and keep in touch with many of my contacts that way. I keep my profile pretty limited and professional. I don’t want people to see my photos.

I would scrutinize an employer who crept my Facebook. I’d like to know what his family life was like? How trustworthy he has been in his past. Has the company ever faced any harsh accusations? If I’m going to let someone pick through my life with a fine tooth comb and tell me whether I am good or bad, I’d like reciprocation, as a potential employee I’d like the power to see if the company I am about to work for, has issues with harassment of it’s new hires.

Well that’s a rant. If it’s not cool in real-life, think twice about accepting it online. Think about it and tell me your thoughts on the social media monstrosity!

Here’s some supplemental reading!

Bryan

  1. March 6th, 2012

Leave a Reply

