Bike Month, NXNE, and Post Crossing, what a weekend

I’m in the process of writing up interviews with The Darcys and the Forest City Lovers, I’ve been trying to accomplish too much at once. I’ve also got a mid-term to study for in my night class: Death and Dying. And of course my 9 to 5. You’ve gotta find time to care for number one in that mix as well.

So I took some bike rides that were a little too ambitious. It’s Toronto Bike Month starting tomorrow by the way, so get on out there. Anyway, if you go down Trafalgar by the mall, there’s a weird ravine-like thing that has a path beside it. It reminds me of a miniature version of that chase scene in Terminator 2. I decided to bike towards Toronto to see how far I could get. The path was misleading and ended up curving up steeply leading me towards my house.

So I headed back and went back to the drawing board. It was worth the trip to find out where it would end up, but for my purposes I’ll need to re-plan my route. However, I think I have one that will work.

I wanted to talk about something else, but of course got distracted with that little anecdote. Okay, there are a few things I’d like to mention. Travis is going to NXNE!

For those that don’t know what NXNE (North by North East) is, here’s a quick lesson. It’s a music festival that hosts hundreds of bands at about 50 venues in downtown Toronto. Running alongside it is the Music and Film Conference that offer a huge amount of resources and round table discussions about music and film for blossoming artists. It allows the industry to network and share ideas. There is also a film festival that focuses mostly on music documentaries.

It’s kind of a big deal and I’m stoked beyond words about having the honour of attending it.

And finally, something for you! I saw this on my friend’s Twitter and I think it’s a really cool idea. Post Crossing. It’s a postcard swapping service. You send a postcard from where you are to someone random in the world, and then someone somewhere else in the world sends you a postcard. I signed up and am excited, I’m going to have to find a fitting postcard though.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, Monday is always too close,
Bryan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

