What Grinds My Gears

(When I Can’t Find The Droids I’m Looking For)

Last Wednesday, I headed down to The Sound Academy for indie-folk/celebrity-turned-hipster She & Him. The show was good, Zooey’s voice is as amazing live as it is recorded, but more on that later.

For those that don’t know: Straight-Edge means that one doesn’t drink, take drugs, or have promiscuous sex.

Before the show we went to Sneaky D’s for Mexican food with some friends. Two of the people we were meeting up with were already there when we arrived. We sat down and pondered the menu, a chalkboard nearby stated that domestic beers were $3.00, so I was sold. I asked the two what they were drinking and they snootily responded, “Oh, we ordered edge drinks.”

Excuse me?

I was baffled for a moment, did she really just say that? I have nothing against Straight-Edge. Well, that’s not true, I have a problem with the trend that Straight-Edge people tend to be overzealous in telling other people that they are Straight-Edge.

I feel like telling someone you are having an “edge drink” is like telling people you’re having a “diet water” or an “alcoholic beer”, it’s oxmoronic (if not just straight up moronic). I’m not sure how you feel about it, but my personal opinion is that everything is good in moderation, even moderation. People’s choices are their own, but even if the squeaky wheel gets the grease, the dude greasing the wheel is going to be like “I’ve got my eye on you wheel, you’re one step away from me getting a new wheel”.

There’s nothing wrong with choosing to be Straight-Edge, there are cool edge people, but ultimately everyone is straight-edge until they turn 16 or so, then they can choose to remain straight-edge. Alcohol is a rite of passage, living in a country where we are notorious for drinking good beer and being able to hold a decent amount of our liquor, drinking is an age thing. It works the opposite way as well, I’m 23 now, and I am surprised sometimes when I find myself ordering a Coke when alcohol is just as available. It’s the beauty of being able to moderate, I like drinking, but sometimes I like drinking Coke too.

But yea, who says “edge drinks”?

Another thing that grinds my gears is when people tweet that they are doing something that is “soo fun”, is it really that fun if you are tweeting about it as you are doing it? I gauge how good something is by the amount of times I tweet during it. The fewer the better.

More to come later today! TRAVIS Meeting in the Student Union Boardroom tonight at 6:30, come out if you want to be part of something awesome.

Here’s something to think about:

Bryan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

