The end is near… kinda.

I tend to get ahead of myself, but I also tend to idealize that I’m not the only one who does such a thing. It’s only July, and I’m already panicking about what to do once April rolls around and I find myself in a cap and gown, walking the stage to get my Sheridan diploma.

After spending 15 years of my life so far as a student, I’m not sure if I’m ready for it to be over. Even as someone who has loathed most, if not all, of those 15 years, the reality is that I only have about nine months left to use “I’m a student” as an excuse to get out of almost everything. The thought of having to enter the adult world in les than a year makes me want to curl up with a blankie and cry. A lot.

I thoroughly enjoy my teenage lack of responsibility. I also love sleeping until 2:30pm on weekends and spending the rest of the day watching movies and endlessly exploring the internet. I have a feeling life isn’t going to be as simple as class assignments and downing boxes of KD once I enter the real world.

Not to mention the fact that, come graduation, most of us are going to have to stop suckling at the financial teat of our parents. Unlike school, I won’t be able to hit the snooze button and miss work on a regular basis — at least not if I want to keep a roof over my head and food in my fridge.

Realizing how fast last year went by, I have my fingers crossed that my second and final year at Sheridan will go a little more slowly. My biggest advice for first years would be to just slow down and enjoy the whole Sheridan experience. For most of us, this is the last stop we make before entering the world of being responsible, hard working adults – and as fun as that sounds, I don’t think there should be any rush to get there.

I’m saying this now – confessing my secret love of the education system, but I can only hope that I remember this deep-down affection for school when I’m knee-deep in near-deadline assignments with three hours of sleep and a wicked hangover.

-Ness Fraser-

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

