Limbo: Shadow… Simple?

I’ve been so busy lately! Work and school and work and school is making me a dull boy.

But, we’re almost through the thick of it. Osheaga is this weekend so if you have some money and some transportation head to Montreal for this amazing amazing show. Band of Horses, Pavement, Metric, Major Lazer, every band you like, and Snoop Dogg. Snoop. Dogg. I know. Awesome. I’ll be there. And Wakestock in Collingwood next weekend where Public Enemy will be. Public. Enemy. I know. Awesome.

Can't wait to see this guy.


But if that’s not your thing, Starcraft 2 came out today and I didn’t get a copy. I’m too busy right now to add in amazing Zerg-ruining mayhem into my life. I still have things to write. But come September when there’s only school to worry about, come find me and we can LAN party like it’s 1997 and Diablo/Starcraft just came out.

Diablo 3… just saying.

I started this with the intention of writing about one thing in particular, and if you’ve read all that pre-amble, well you deserve this. I was away for the weekend but before I left I downloaded a game called Limbo off Xbox Live. It’s a Xbox Live Arcade game and it’s the kind of game that gets me amped.

Other games that get me amped: Little Big Planet (so crazily complex), Katamari Damacy (rolling things into a ball until you roll up planets, it’s quirky), Pikmin (control little vegetable men to do your sweet sweet bidding), WarioWare: Smooth Moves (it’s always hard for me to share this one, it’s on the edge of madness, you basically play a variety of games that last only 2-3 seconds, watching your friend hula hoop or pretend to be an elephant for a fraction of a second is infinitely hilarious)

Last year’s Shadow Complex was that game for me. It was awesome. If you haven’t played it you are missing out. Yea, Call of Duty is great, but when you want some real gaming, Shadow Complex is the apex of classic gaming meets HD.

Limbo is a high-concept game but at the same time so simple. I love these types of games because they show how far we’ve come in the gaming world. Sometimes one needs to put down the stunning graphics and play something so simple we could’ve imagined it, but we didn’t. There’s no colour in Limbo (poetic, I know), instead there’s only black and white. The lighting often deteriorates so that you have to chance knowing where you are.

Simple and Elegant design... like a vacuum.

The controls are simpler. D-Pad, jump, and action. Simple. It’s art.

You navigate your character across a 2-d platform that is laden with tricks and traps and pitfalls and that’s as far as I’ve gotten.

Limbo


One more thing, there is no music. Well-chosen, the silence really makes the game pop.

If you have Xbox and wanna be a cool kid, get this game.

Bryan

PS; What is up with new google images… not sure how to feel about it yet. I want to like it, but I don’t.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

