Travis Reviews Escape The Fate

By Derek Heraldo

I haven’t bothered listening to Escape the Fate since I was a little emo kid back in high school. Since that album came out in 2006, the lineup has changed. The rhythm guitarist and original vocalist are no longer a part of the band, and have since recruited Craig Mabbit, ex-singer from Blessthefall as their front man.

I remember old Escape the Fate as an Emo band, but now they’ve replaced their old sounds with modern pop-electronic effects.

So now we have pop metalcore band, quite the mix.

This list of songs had me linking it to sounds of other bands out there, a lot of which are pretty mainstream. Here are a few songs I found to be noticeable among the rest.

The first song “Choose Your Fate” is your basic introduction to any album. Very simple, yet if I were seeing them live and this is how they would begin their set, I’d be pretty pumped.

“Massacre” keeps the energy going. It’s a combination of Linkin Park, Lady Gaga’s “Telephone” and adds the heaviness of a traditional hardcore band. Sounds pretty messed up, I know.

“Gorgeous Nightmare” is a party song, and I like it. However, the vocal structure and the lyrics seem purposely rushed.

Then finally we end off at “The Aftermath.” By far my favourite track on the album, more metal than any other song on the record. Halfway through the song there’s a one-minute sheer Dragonforce Henri Li-type shred. This made the album all worthwhile.

Apparently they came out with a deluxe edition of the album, but I’m not going out of my way to get the extra two tracks. If I ever stumble upon them I’ll listen to them but that’s about as far as I’m going to go with this record. Regardless, if you’re down with melodic metalcore (not to be mistaken with happy hardcore) I say go check it out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

