Paul The Intern Invades Sheridan!

By Matt Main

I’ve been watching MTV Live for three years now, setting aside high school projects and meals so I can laugh for 30 minutes. After waking up at 11:30 am and having three cups of coffee, it never really hit me until I was sitting in Kathy Muldoon’s class that I was interviewing Paul the Intern at 10 later that night.

Being only in first year and having never met anyone famous before, I didn’t know how to act. I tried to be calm but just before I went up the stairs to SU to interview Paul, I was anxious like any other fan. After hanging out for an hour and just talking about life, he turns out just to be like everyone else, perhaps quieter than most people would think.

Since he has a feature in Travis, I thought I’d ask him some questions for the blog before he got drunk and took his shirt off for everyone.

What is the average day of Paul Lemieux?

“The average day of Paul Lemieux. Well, I get to work at 10 o’clock so already, starting off pretty good, right? Don’t have to be anywhere from 8 or 9. And then we have a morning pitch meeting where we just scour the Internet for really stupid videos or whatever we find that day. We pitch it to Daryn and a couple of the writers and the producer of the show. That’s where we get ideas for the show and come up with bits and whatnot. Then I sit around, I do a little bit of the blog and then when they figure out what they’re gonna do for the show, they approach me and then they say “we’re gonna have you shoot this gun at this guy” or something. So we shoot that and all the tapes that we have to shoot go to air that day. I like how it’s timely, I guess. We have a script meeting at 1:30 and then another at 3:30, a rehearsal at 4:45 then the show’s at 6.”

Since you went to Niagara, what’s the craziest thing that happened while you went there?

“That’s a good question, I don’t think anything really crazy had happened. I’m trying to think…probably wouldn’t have been during the school hours but I don’t know. Unfortunately, I lived at home with my parents since I lived close enough for me not to move away so I didn’t experience a lot of college life.”

You tour all around and go to different colleges to hangout, what’s the best college to get drunk/pass out at?

“Sheridan is defiantly up there for getting drunk at, I haven’t had the honour of crashing here though. Another one is Saint F.X. in Antigonish, Nova Scotia. There’s a very small town vibe there, they treat you right and it’s really fun to party at.”

I’ve noticed, I don’t know if anyone else has but every time you drink or get drunk on the show, you loose your shirt, why’s that?

“That’s a good question. I think I’m really comfortable with my body and it’s there for the world to see. Drinking just brings the shirt off me. I don’t need a lot of drinks to take off my clothes in front of my parents but around strangers, I might need a little push.”

When you do outrageous stuff like rollerblading down the sidewalk in short-shorts, how do you go through with that?

“Well luckily in Toronto where we tape, people don’t really care if they see me rollerblading in a skirt or whatever. No one turns to you and says anything so that, I’m kinda comfortable with. I just say, “it’s my job, you do what you do and I do what I do”. I try not to think about it too much. People think it might be kinda weird but it’s just normal for me.”

On MTV Live, Daryn always picks on you but how’s your relationship off the show?

“Very good! We actually went out for a drink after the show tonight. He’s kind of like a mentor for me and I like to think that he thinks I’m his protégé, you know? I learn from him and he hangs around me. But yeah, he’s a lot of fun to hangout with but I say he’s way funnier off camera than on. He’s just a good guy to hangout with.”

You’ve made some awesome songs like Fabulous and (Snip, Snip) The Cemetery Way, when are you going to put a new one out?

“Oh man, when am I gonna drop my next track, eh? I don’t know, that’s a good question. I know that we’ve been talking about doing one especially for Daryn. He’s been asking when I’m gonna write his next song but I don’t know. I think it’s about time we make a new music video!”

Where do you see yourself in 15 years?

“Well I don’t know if it’d be in 15 years but I hope that I can get away from the city. I like that kind of feeling where there’s trees and not concrete everywhere. Maybe I’ll live on a side street somewhere, just living in a house. I don’t know what I’d be working on though.”

If you weren’t ‘Paul the Intern’, who would you be today?

“Oh man, I would be ‘Paul the college kid living with my parents’. I probably still would have been doing that if I didn’t get a job at MTV. I was planning on going to school somewhere else but I just lucked out so I’m just running with it now.”

You can read more about Paul the Intern in the newest issue of Travis.

 

Leave a Reply

