Me and my lip sweater pt. 2

I have something on my face.

It’s typically not there. Well, not there to the lustrous extent that it currently sits and resides. It’s not attractive in the slightest. I often get stares. And I typically navigate the odd, usually cheeky comment targeted at its existence, and at my expense.

And sometimes, just sometimes it garners a decent conversation. A discussion around men’s health, namely cancer. And facial hair.

What do we have here? Dueling mustachios I believe.

Yes, I have a lip sweater adorning my upper lip. It’s been there for the past month, the so-called month of Movember. And no, it looks awful – I’m clearly no Burt Reynolds, alas. I grew the little monster to raise awareness for men’s health – just like why every other young guy out there sporting a lip critter says, but I also am raising money for men’s prostate cancer. (And I tracked my visual progress to boot. Want evidence? Here you go:http://ca.movember.com/mospace/1070422/).

As I blogged about my intentions earlier this month (scroll down to find that post, it was titled, “Me and my mustache”), I noted that I would follow-up with my mustache-lens experience and observations. Here are some observations from my upper lip from the past month.

People like to stare at totally obvious out-of-place facial hair. And I don’t blame them. I get looks on the streetcar that I don’t understand until I remember that, you know, I have a big swath of ugly on my upper lip. Which brings me to my next point: You totally forget about the Mo’ until you catch yourself trying to curl its corners. You’d think this would be easy to do; it’s not, let me assure you. But I do now aspire to grow a mustache one day that I will be able to curl its edges, just enough to actually purchase mustache wax – how cool. I wasn’t able to confirm if a mustache actually keeps your upper lip warm, as if it were a sweater. The jury is still out on that one. Also, mustaches, especially the light-haired ones, look best when photographed in black and white. That one has been tested.

And lastly, it was great to see such a number of young men adorning various lip whiskers – a lot of which were just glorified stubble, but whatever, right? Any attention is good attention because a lot of the time, men take such stoic and sometimes macho approaches to real health issues – like prostate cancer. Sporting a mustache is a comical, light way of breaking the ice. We should see more of it.

How’s your flavour saver looking? You only have one more day to show the results, proudly, of course.

RYAN BOLTON

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

